Write What's Left


place of fire
January 8, 2012, 11:34 pm
Filed under: Poetry, Writing | Tags: , , , , , ,

three-day non-stop rain.

not even for a minute.

not a second. not a first.

near-cold breath, long

almost-silences, things

being thrown about by the wind.

the thermostat is broken.

nights like this, I wish I had

the hungry coal of your neck,

ready warmth of your fingers.

I wish I had your

slow-motion mouth.

on nights like this,

little drafts sneak in through the window

squat in my notebooks for a few weeks.

On nights like this,

my place

is waiting

for your fire.

on nights like this,

I get out the potato peels,

Dig into myself,

Learn to invent flame.


Creative Commons Licence
“fire place” by Alberto Cristoffanini is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

is the original title better: “Chim-chim-cheroo”?

Comment by albertocristoffanini




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 300 other followers

